Clear ice with the Wintersmiths Phantom Ice Maker

I’ve been using the Wintersmiths Phantom Ice Maker for a many months now, so I figured I ought to write up my experience.

The Phantom Ice Maker is a directional freezing ice mold. It consists of a cylindrical insulated vessel and a variety of silicone ice trays for producing different shapes of clear ice. The unit is rather pricey: $140 including the ice tray of your choice. Additional ice trays cost about $40/ea. (I got mine at a bit of a discount through the initial Kickstarter.)

At this time, I have two trays: the large cube and the small cube. The former produces 2 inch cubes and the latter produces 1.25 inch cubes. I’m not a fan of ice spheres, so those don’t interest me. I might consider the collins ice spear tray in the future.

The short of it is that this contraption does work pretty well. As usual, the devil is in the details.

First of all, its footprint in your freezer is about 8.5" in diameter, and about 6" tall. It’s not really practical to put anything atop it when its freezing. Many people will struggle to find a place for this unit unless they have a second freezer available. Wintersmiths does make some smaller units (Phantom Mini and the Ice Chest) that may be better options for some, but I haven’t tried them.

Second, it takes about 24 hours (depending on your freezer) to produce a batch of ice. In my case, a batch of ice means 6 large cubes or 16 small cubes. Moreover, you cannot immediately turn around and start a new batch, because there’s a plug of ice in the cylinder you first need to leave to melt enough to discard. This has all turned out to work OK for me—most of the time—but for some that will simply not be enough ice without supplementing.